EC exporters celebrate milestone awards

12 August 2020 | Web Article Number: ME202020066

Business Tech
Commerce & Trade
Finance & Investment
ICT In Industry
Import / Export

RESILIENCE and success in business will once again be recognised by Exporters Eastern Cape when the organisation hosts its Exporter of the Year Awards later this week.

The 2020 awards mark a milestone for Exporters Eastern Cape, which is celebrating 40 years of existence in Port Elizabeth.

Exporters Eastern Cape is a non-profit organisation for members involved in exporting – either directly or indirectly – and represents a broad spectrum of large and smaller export companies, freight forwarders, financial institutions, and shipping lines in the Eastern Cape.

It will be the 25th year that the Exporter of the Year Awards is hosted to honour and acknowledge the achievements of Eastern Cape exporters and service providers to the province’s export industry, said Exporters Eastern Cape Chairman Quintin Levey.

This year’s event will take place on Friday, 14 August and is being hosted online.

“The Exporter of the Year Awards showcases the true success of our exports in the region and we will indeed have an Exporter of the Year Awards this year, despite the unprecedented times. We continue to have great success stories in the Eastern Cape, and we look forward to celebrating four decades of the existence of our organisation with our member companies,” said Levey.

Entries for the Awards closed in June and winners will be announced in the following categories:

  • SJM Flex Environmental Practice Award
  • SJM Flex Environmental Award
  • IDC Job Creation Award
  • Best Provider of Services to Exporters
  • Best Exporter: Small Business
  • Best Exporter: Medium Enterprises
  • Best Exporter: Corporate Category
  • Best Exporter: OEM
The Overall Exporter of the Year for 2020 will be chosen from these category winners.

Judging criteria includes qualitative and quantitative data, which are thoroughly assessed by an independent panel of judges. The independent judges for the awards will be Dr Randall Jonas (Nelson Mandela University Business School), Justin Ries (FNB), Sujit Bhagattjee (TNPA), Hoosain Mahomed (AIDC), Jane Stevenson (Magnetic Storm), Kingsley Dell-Robinson (IDC), Prince Matonsi (Nelson Mandela Bay Business Chamber) and Quintin Levey (Exporters Eastern Cape).

Last year’s Overall Exporter of the Year Winner was Volkswagen Group South Africa, who also received a merit award for the SJM Flex Environmental Award, a merit award for the IDC Job Creation Award as well as winning the category for the Best Exporter: OEM.

For more information about the Awards, contact Exporters Eastern Cape Branch Coordinator, Suzanne Vermeulen at

Related Articles