Kudos for award winning NMU architectural student

15 May 2019 | Web Article Number: ME201914554

Construction, Civil & Structural Engineering
Education & Training
Kudos for award winning NMU architectural student

THE newly elected President of the South African Council for the Architectural Profession, Ntsindiso Charles Nduku, has congratulated Nelson Mandela University’s Riaan Huiskens for scooping the 2019 Corobrik Architectural Student of the Year Award.

During 2018, eight regional finalists from universities across the country were recognised and put forward to compete for a national title and a prize of R70 000 at the Corobrik Architectural Student of the Year Awards.

Huiskens beat seven other regional winners on Tuesday 7 May 2019 to snatch the top prize of R70 000 at a ceremony at the Maslow Hotel in Sandton, Johannesburg. His winning thesis is entitled “The design of a 3D printing facility in Central Port Elizabeth”.

“Our congratulations to Riaan Huiskens and the Nelson Mandela University’s Architecture school for a job well done. We are really impressed by the quality of submissions received this year and believe that this competition adds to the improvement of the architectural sector in South Africa, and indeed the rest of the continent,” Nduku said.

The other finalists were Tshwane University of Technology’s Ruan Jansen van Rensburg; University of Cape Town’s Anthony Whitaker; University of the Free State’s Samuel Pellissier; University of Johannesburg’s Elao Martin; University of KwaZulu-Natal’s Shuaib Bayat; University of Pretoria’s Ferdinand le Grange and University of the Witwatersrand’s Jason Ngibuini.

While happy about the work placed before the judges at this year’s awards; Nduku, however, expressed disappointed that there were no women represented at this year’s finals.

“One of our strategic goals as SACAP is to ensure that the profession is transformed and we would like to see more women emerging at such competitions,” he said.

Nduku and the newly appointed Fifth Term Council took office on 3 May 2019 following their inauguration as the leadership which will be managing the affairs of SACAP for the next four years.

Related Articles